#HarryPotter20 (and how I got into the HP craze)

Happy 20th Anniversary, Harry Potter!

I still remember that time when I was like a Ron Weasley trying to pronounce the spells properly. And when I’ve finally done it…I felt I’ve leveled up to a Hermione Granger real quick! Haha!

wingardiumleviosa

It’s been 20 years since the first Harry Potter book – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (or Sorcerer’s Stone) was published after countless rejections, according to its author, J. K. Rowling.

This book has been a global craze, and until now, people of all ages are still crazy about it.

I remember when I was still in elementary school, I had a classmate who has a photocopy of the Sorcerer’s Stone. Yes, the photocopy of the whole book. I wasn’t that interested in it much yet.

Then there’s the vacation before high school. I’ve been seeing this book in EVERY bookstore and that’s how I got curious. I already wanted to have a copy and read the book, but I we don’t have the money to buy a book of such an amount.

I was randomly checking a book to borrow when I saw the Chamber of Secrets. Oh boy. I can’t explain how happy I was when I saw it. I asked for Sorcerer, of course, but I had no luck. I then waited for it to be returned and when it was finally returned by the borrower right before my very eyes, I took it and borrowed it.

hermione

Since Harry Potter books are really popular, it’s really hard to get the hold of it after finishing one. The wait is sometimes days or weeks or sometimes, almost a month. It’s because the library only had one copy of each book back then. I always tell the librarian to let me know when the book is due to be returned so I can go back and have myself borrow it.

 

hogwarts

I am sure you’ve said this, not once, but many many times as well. HAHA

 

The moment when you get hold of the book is as blissful as when I have watched the first movie. Yeah, I watched it late as I never watch a movie adaptation without reading the book first (unless I didn’t know it’s an adaptation before watching it). I was so amazed by the movie and I told myself I will watch every movie of it. And YES I did it.

 

patronus

Those partronuses that everyone wished to have.

 

Harry Potter has been one of the greatest series of books written and published. It has caused children and even adults to flock to the bookstores. It has also caused us to stay up so late and begged to read just one more chapter (or page) and repeat it a hundred more times even if we have a 7 am class the next day. It gave us emotions we thought we’ll never feel as children and imaginations we thought will never cross our minds. It also taught us a lot of life lessons for school and for life.

dumbledorehermione3

And with that… Thank you, Harry Potter. Thank you, J.K. Rowling. Even if I had to choose whether to read my textbook for my classes or one of the Harry Potter books, I’m glad I read all of them and it made me escape the reality of a bitter world and instead dive into a different dimension that is full of adventures, fun, and excitement.

harry potter trio

Now it’s time for me to fetch that remote and rewatch the film. Accio remote!

 

rozie logo

P.S. I still haven’t bought any of the books, though my sister and I are planning to buy a full set when she’s in Senior High School already. I have read everything by the help of the school library and by borrowing from friends.

P.P.S. I also want to go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Universal Studios. Anywhere would be great.

 

Image sources: 1/ 2/ 3/ 4/ 5/ 6/ 7/ 

 

Leave a Reply

